Events

memoQ Advanced Workshop for Freelance Translators

December 7, 2021
Online Event - Hosted through Zoom
Asset_107

 

 

 

Based on the success of our last workshop in September and our virtual memoQfest, we would like to invite you now to join us for the last time this year for a mini-conference filled with advanced-level sessions starting from project management with bilingual RTF and XLIFF files, dealing with other multilingual files and more.

 

Our Advanced Workshop for Freelancers will take place on December 7, 2021 (1:00 PM - 6:00 PM CET // 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT).

 

 

Do what you are good at: translate, and let memoQ handle the rest!

 

 

Program

 

1:05 PM - 2:15 PM CET (7:05 AM - 8:15 AM EDT): Working with others - roundtrip with XLIFF and RTF
Angelika Zerfass (memoQ Expert & Trainer)

This sesssion is built around the idea how translators can do a bit of project management and share work with other users and how to get it back into memoQ. The session will focus on more specifically bilingual XLIFF and RTF files and how to work with them, including file exchanges, snapshots, showing comments and much more.

 


2:15 PM - 2:25 PM CET (8:15 - 8:25 AM EDT) - COFFEE BREAK


 

2:25 PM - 4:25 PM CET (8:25 AM - 10:25 AM EDT): Handling multilingual files

Marek Pawelec (Freelance Translator)

Some customers may send you Excel files which are like a glossary: the file contains English as source and several other languages in different rows. Not every English source term has a translation in all languages. There are empty cells, or empty rows. Sometimes it can also occur that you have a multilingual term base, and not every entry has a translation in every language. In this session, you will have the chance to take a closer look at the different types of multilingual files from from XLIFF and XML to Excel and how to work with them.

 


4:25 PM - 4:40 PM CET (10:25 AM - 10:40 AM EDT) - COFFEE BREAK


 

4:40 PM - 5:40 PM CET (10:40 AM - 11:40 AM EDT): Back-translations
Jure Dernovsek (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

Back translation, or re-translating a document from one language back to its original language, can be a useful way to gain insight into your final translated product and can be an efficient method for spotting mistranslations or other linguist issues. One such use-case can for instance be when a product is pulled-out from the local market because of faulty instructions and to proof the translation was correct, back-translation can be used. In this session we'll see how we can use the available tools in memoQ to do back-translation efficiently.

 

What if I am only a beginner?

Please, keep in mind that in order to make the most of the workshop day, the topics covered require some previous experience with the tool. If you wish to brush up on your knowledge, you can look into the recordings of our last freelancer workshop day as a resource, where we covered a variety of topics ranging from beginner to advanced levels.

 

 

Not signed up yet...?

If you have not booked your seat yet, you can do it now by completing the following form in less than a minute.

Should you have any questions concerning the registration or the workshop itself, please contact Réka Nagy.

 

 

We are looking forward to meeting you virtually on December 7!

 

 

 

Why should you meet us?

team

Learn more about memoQ's solution

Get discount if you buy a license at the event

Get to know the people behind memoQ

Have a nice coffee and get other goodies

Write us if you have questions, we are more than happy to answer them.

Get notified where we can meet

.