Events

Online workshop day for freelance translators

September 29, 2021
Online Event - Hosted through Zoom
memoq-99-landing-page-1200x628-01

 

 

 

Please be informed that registration has automatically been closed since all seats were taken. Send a message to the memoQ team to subscribe to the waiting list. Those who subscribe to the waiting list will receive the recording automatically.

 

We at memoQ understand the importance of connections and would never miss any opportunity to meet our community - even in a virtual environment.

 

To meet memoQ's existing and future users online, we organize a virtual event on September 29, 2021 (11:00 AM - 7:00 PM CEST // 5:00 AM - 13:00 PM EDT).

 

Do what you are good at: translate, and let memoQ handle the rest

 

During this event, the focus will be on our freelancer userbase and how they can make the best out of our tool. The day will feature sessions starting from memoQ basics and hidden gems within the software all the way to templates, termonology, light and heavy resource magangement and much more.

It does not matter if you are just starting to work with the tool or you are already a seasoned professional within the field, you will surely find something new to learn during the day!

 

Registration is now closed

 

Please be informed that registration has automatically been closed since all seats were taken. Send a message to the memoQ team to subscribe to the waiting list. Those who subscribe to the waiting list will receive the recording automatically.

 

 

What if I am not a memoQ user?

 

This event was not designed for memoQ users only: everyone who believes technology is crucial to business is very welcome to join. We are very much looking forward to meeting both our existing and future clients.

 

 

Program

 

11:00 AM - 11:05 AM CEST (5:00 AM - 5:05 AM EDT): Welcome session & introduction

 

11:05 AM - 11:50 PM CEST (5:05 AM - 5:50 AM EDT): memoQ basics
Angelika Zerfass (memoQ Expert & Trainer)

This session is the right choice for you if you are new to memoQ (or, if you have been working with the software for some time and you wish to go through the basics again). Join Angelika who will help you master the basics of the tool, including project creation, creating and managing Translation Memories and Term Bases and translating with the tool.

 

11:50 AM - 12:35 PM CEST (5:50 AM - 6:35 AM EDT): Hidden treasures in memoQ
Angelika Zerfass (memoQ Expert & Trainer)

There are some features in memoQ that you will only find by accident and others might hide behind shortcut keys that do not have an icon on the menu ribbon. In this session we will take a look at some of these features and how to use them.

 


12:35 PM - 12:50 PM (6:35 - 6:50 AM EDT) - COFFEE BREAK


 

12:50 PM - 13:50 PM CEST (6:50 AM - 7:50 AM EDT) (ROOM A): Project templates
Levente Galbáts (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

At the core of memoQ is a desire to let you make the most productive use of your time. Project Templates and workflow automation is a great example of something which does exactly that.
Whether you are a project manager or a translator, there are a lot of project creation steps and other tasks which can be automated.

 

12:50 PM- 13:50 PM CEST (6:50 AM - 7:50 AM EDT) (ROOM B): Terminology
Anna Mohácsi-Gorove (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

In this session we will look at terminology in all its facets: term base management, term creation and term extraction. Join Anna Mohácsi-Gorove to learn how to prepare a list of terms for your project, how to search in a term base and how to make the best use of the different fields of a term base entry.

 


13:50 PM - 14:20 PM (7:50 AM - 8:20 AM EDT) - Networking & Coffee Break


 

14:20 PM- 15:20 PM CEST (8:20 AM - 9:20 AM EDT) (ROOM A): Less known resources: LiveDocs and Muses
Maciej Raczka (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

memoQ users create, access, exchange, import, archive and delete hundreds, if not thousands, of heavy resources every single day. And managing them effectively and in a user-friendly way couldn’t be more important to the day-to-day effectiveness of freelancers and localization teams. Join Maciej to learn more.

 

14:20 PM- 15:20 PM CEST (8:20 AM - 9:20 AM EDT) (ROOM B): Regular Expressions
Angelika Zerfass (memoQ Expert & Trainer)

Regular expressions in memoQ are a powerful means of finding character sequences in text. Angelika's session helps to understand the basics of regular expressions and where they can be used, including search and replace (memoQ editor), tag elements in the text (memoQ editor and filters), import from text files (filters).

 

15:35 PM- 16:35 PM CEST (9:35 AM - 10:35 AM EDT) (ROOM A): Light resource management
Filip Klepacki (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

Have you wondered how you can use light-resources to your advantage? Using non-translatable lists can help you maintain better consistency. Using AutoCorrect can help you save time on typing long repetitive phrases.  Using Web Search in memoQ can help you with your translation process.

 

15:35 PM- 16:35 PM CEST (9:35 AM - 10:35 AM EDT) (ROOM B): Auto-translation rules
Angelika Zerfass (memoQ Expert & Trainer)

An auto-translation rule set is a collection of algorithmic rules that help to transform parts of text into the target language. Auto-translation rules use regular expressions to recognize the patterns they have to convert. Join Angelika to learn  some tricks to make your work easier.

 


16:35 PM - 16:50 PM (10:35 AM - 10:50 AM EDT) - COFFEE BREAK


 

16:50 PM- 17:20 PM CEST (10:50 AM - 11:20 AM EDT) (ROOM A): Interoperability
Jure Dernovsek (Solution Engineer at memoQ)

In this session we'll see how we can work with files coming from other tools such as Trados Studio or Transit. If we receive packages that contain translation memories or termbases we’ll make sure to use them. In case we would like to work with colleagues that use other tools we’ll prepare packages that they can process and answer some of the common questions when it comes to interoperability.

 

16:50 PM- 17:20 PM CEST (10:50 AM - 11:20 AM EDT) (ROOM B): Preparing source files for translation
Marianna Nagy (Product Manager at memoQ)

It is only a Word file, easy as 1-2-3! Not always! Converted PDFs with wrong segmentation, non-editable images, embedded files make the life of a translator hard. Join Marianna to learn the tips and tricks on how to make an ugly Word document CAT-compatible.

 

17:35 PM- 18:05 PM CEST (11:35 AM - 12:05 PM EDT): Audiovisual translations
Angela Starkmann (memoQ Consultant)

In the translation business AV translations is very separate from all the other parts of our industry, and many technological standards like the use of translation memory tools, automated QA and terminology work are still lagging behind.

This workshop is for linguists, who already work in the industry, or plan to try their luck with translation for entertainment - showing, how AV translation looks like, how technology can be used, and how it is already used today. It is a very wide area and might raise more questions, but will hopefully be a starting point for future insights.

 

18:15 PM- 18:55 PM CEST (12:15 PM - 12:55 PM EDT): Online Marketing for Translators
Tess Whitty (ATA and ITI Certified English-Swedish translator, speaker, trainer, consultant)

The pandemic has changed how we do business, and an online presence is more important than ever before. You need to be found where the clients are looking. Today that means online. In this session, you'll learn what platforms and strategies you can use to attract your ideal clients to you online, including your website, SEO, LinkedIn, and other social media. You'll get tips on using the right content to engage with prospects online, plus tips and tools to make the process faster and easier.

18:55 PM CEST (12:55 PM EDT):  Closing remarks

 

 

Not signed up yet...?

 

If you have not booked your seat yet, you can do it now by completing the following form in less than a minute.

Should you have any questions concerning the registration or the event itself, please contact Sandor Papp and Réka Nagy.

 

 

The memoQ team is looking forward to meeting you virtually on September 29!

 

 

Meet us at our next events

memoQ will organize more events in the near future. We will keep you updated.

Why should you meet us?

team

Learn more about memoQ's solution

Get discount if you buy a license at the event

Get to know the people behind memoQ

Have a nice coffee and get other goodies

Write us if you have questions, we are more than happy to answer them.

Get notified where we can meet

.